Zaporizhia is a land of Cossacks freedom the gem of which is the Khortytsia island. Khortytsia is a tiny 12-kiometer long country with all landscape zones of Ukraine in it. The settlement of the Paleolithic age, the Scythians, the Sarmatians, the Khazars, the Cimmerians, the Pechenegs, the Cumans, the Slavs are reported to be be found on the territory of the island. This is the crossway of the main overland and water trade routes. There used to be 129 burial hills and wooden astronomical stations. The Mala Khortytsia Island (Small Khortytsia) is the place where Dmytro Baida-Vyshnevetsky built a castle in 1552, from the times of the Khmelnytsky Uprising and till the Sich demolishing Khortytsia was the center of Cossacks movement. Now the place hosts the Zaporizhian Sich History and Culture Complex and national conservation area. Fans of the Cossacks history can also pay a visit to a 700-year-old oak. The legend goes that this is the oak under which the Zaporozhian Cossacks wrote a letter to the Sultan. The trunk of the tree is 6 m 32 cm in diameter, and its height reaches 36 meters. You’d better hurry up, since only one brunch is fresh.
The greatest event in the history of Zaporizhia city was the construction of the Dnieper Hydroelectric Station – the unique engineering feat of XX century that made the Dnieper river maritime along its full length. Starting from the soviet period in Zaporizhia district with an interesting architecture Sotsmisto remained till present days.
Fans of vintage cars will have a possibility to visit Museum of vintage cars "Phaeton" founded in 2001. The first exhibit of the museum collection, 1944 ZIS, was bought in 2001. Up to 2018 the number of exhibit items in the museum reaches 150, among which you can find vintage cars, motorbikes, production and rare research examples of military machinery, firearm. The range of exhibits are run and drive, and it is used in different historical reconstructions on a regular basis. Also you will have an opportunity to visit the Zaporizhia Museum of Arms History founded on July, 7 2004. The private collection of researcher, local historian, write and manager of Diana-92 research and production company, Ltd Vitaliy Hryhorovych Shlaifer is the basis of the exposition. The museum hosts wide spectrum of cold and fire arms: starting from arms of the Stone age to weapons of the Second World War.
The town where the Vasylivka Historical and Architectural Museum-Reserve "Popov Manor House" is located, this is the only survived castle in Zaporizhia region. The architectural complex was built in 1889-1894 by the descendants of lieutenant general Vasili Stepanovich Popov. At the time of prosperity this palace was surrounded with defensive fortification similar to walls of the Moscow Kremlin; 15 rooms of the castle housed paintings of famous European painters. The palace was surrounded with beautiful park with alleys and fountains. A hunter's lodge survived to this day. It looks like a fairytale palace with towers, tall walls, fancy tiny tower with a viewpoint on the park and picturesque valley of the river and two entry gates. This is the only complex in Ukraine where practically all elements of manor house of the times of the Wild Field survived.
National historical and cultural conservation area “Kamyana Mohyla” (Stone Tomb) is a unique sight with a global reach. This is a six-meter congestion of great number of sandstones that formed many caves and grottos where ancient people had their sanctuaries. Painting dated back to 20th millennium AD and the oldest in the world so called Presumerian literature were found survived in the grottos. Some scientists say that 10 thousand years ago habitants of those places could not only write, but knew the principles of astronomy, chemistry and medicine, and the secrets of metal melting, and back then they already used a plow and a wheel.